Creating Glitch Art

Let me introduce you all to ‘Glitch Art’ or ‘Databending’. Glitch art is the term to describe art inspired by computing errors and often using those errors to your advantage to create the art. The above three pictures are of myself, taken by my good friend Brian at a show of an old band I used to play keyboards for. Anyone who knows me knows how obsessed I am with bizarre technologies so when I read about glitch art, I immediately fell in love.

So how to do it…

  1. Take an image and open it in your favourite text editor.
  2. It’ll come up with a bunch of gobble-de-gook right? Good.
  3. Start messing with that code, change values, remove values, delete lines of the code, just play around with it. Delete too much and your file will corrupt. Add too much and the same happens, its total experimentation finding the right balance and being able to create effects like above. My advice is do one thing at a time, then check it out to see if you like it. Its a lengthy process, but you’ll create something awesome.
  4. When you’re done, save your file with the exact same extension (.jpg or whatever you used to begin with) and view the results.

There you have it. Glitch art! Relatively easy and a fun way to create some original images.

Leave a Reply

