Hacking Guitar Hero Controllers to MIDI in Max

Im adding to my list of new years resolutions “blog more” right now. Seriously.

Anyway, I bought one of these today;

…and after a night of hacking I’ve got it all parsed and sending out MIDI data with the help of a pretty big max patch which I’ve put up for download here:

http://store.payloadz.com/details/912122-Software-Add-Ons-and-Plug-ins-Guitar-Hero-to-MIDI.html

 


To help me cover my costs in keeping my website running and encouraging me to blog more, I’m selling this little app for £1.99. About the price of a couple of songs on iTunes, but to me, it makes all the difference in helping me run my website and keep developing these tools for the people who read this and are interested in this stuff.

So if you’ve got a USB guitar hero controller, please buy the app, plug your controller in, patch it into ableton and rock out!

And please email me your thoughts and likewise with any bugs, i’ll be happy to chat with anyone about how it works and how I built it too.

Thanks and please support 🙂

 

2 responses to “Hacking Guitar Hero Controllers to MIDI in Max

  1. Maximum respect for anyone with the patience to sit and make Max patches. Never really got on with it myself. Will you be using these in your set any time soon?

Leave a Reply

